Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Higgs boson, key to the universe, wins Nobel physics prize

(Reuters) - Britain's Peter Higgs and Francois Englert of Belgium won the Nobel Prize for physics on Tuesday for predicting the existence of the Higgs boson particle that explains how elementary matter attained the mass to form stars and planets.

Half a century after their original work, the new building block of nature was finally detected in 2012 at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) centre's giant, underground particle-smasher near Geneva.

The discovery was hailed as one of the most important in physics.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Alice Munro wins Nobel Prize for Literature

Canadian author Alice Munro has won the 2013 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Making the announcement, Peter Englund, permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy, called her a "master of the contemporary short story".

Her books include Dear Life and Dance of the Happy Shades.

Previous winners of the prize include literary giants such as Rudyard Kipling, Toni Morrison and Ernest Hemingway.


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chemical weapons watchdog OPCW wins Nobel Peace Prize

The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), which is overseeing the destruction's of Syria's arsenal, won the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday, the Norwegian Nobel Committee said.

Experts from the Hague-based global chemical weapons watchdog, supported by the United Nations, are working to destroy Syria's massive chemical weapons stockpile after a sarin gas strike in the suburbs of Damascus killed more than 1,400 people in August.

The $1.25 million prize will be presented in Oslo on December 10, the anniversary of the death of Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, who founded the awards in his 1895 will.


Link to post
Share on other sites

2013 Prize in Economic Sciences awarded to: Eugene F. Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert Shiller "for their empirical analysis of asset prices"

The 2013 Nobel prizes

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 François Englert and Peter W. Higgs

"for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider"

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt and Arieh Warshel

"for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems"

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2013 James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman and Thomas C. Südhof

"for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells"

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2013 Alice Munro

"master of the contemporary short story"

Link to post
Share on other sites

No way--Alice Munro's been in the hunt for over a decade. Finally the short story--and its greatest living purveyor--are recognised for what they are: great literature.

Also awesome that she's a Canuck, but I would've been hoping for her, regardless. :)

A shame Murakami didn't won, he's one of my favorite writers :(

Link to post
Share on other sites

One of my all-time favorites, Carol Burnett, finally wins the Mark Twain Prize for humor!


Love Tina Fey's opening line: "We are here to celebrate the first lady of American comedy, Ted Cruz." :lol: :lol:

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 years later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...