Official languages - which version can be used?

Mercator

I think this was brought up ages and ages ago, but I'll recycle it anyhow...

I'm a linguist by trade and I am also ordinarily interested in languages, so this is a question that interests me from a personal and professional point of view:

So... when the Olympic Games are in London, the buildings/venues/events are officially known by their local names in British English, in Sydney Australian English, Vancouver in Canadian English, all pretty similar indeed together I'll call them Commonwealth English.

e.g.

Aquatic Centre

500 Metres Breaststroke

In the USA, it's naturally in their local patois:

e.g.

Aquatic Center

50 Meters Breaststroke

So when the Games have been held elsewhere outside the Anglosphere, it's normally officially titled in Commonwealth English, to my knowledge. But when I looked on Rio's website, their names are in US English. Sochi the same. Is this through geographical reasons, or is it just due to the preference of the OC or website designer? Will this change when the time gets nearer, or can the OC choose the version of English it uses? Are there rules as to which spelling/vocabulary can be used?

Is my question comprehensible?! :o:lol:

Names in English in Rio website???

In the Portuguese version of the site, the official names of the venues like "Estádio do Maracanã" or "Parque do Flamengo" are in Portuguese.

I might understand you are talking about which English they use in translations...

And, in Brazil, at least, we mostly use US English for translations (Or "globish" sometimes).

At least, most people does not even know there is some "Commonwealth English".

Bigger question is...for the Paralympics...what language do they use in the Braille signs? French? English? Greek? Portuguese?

How about for the Sochi Paras? Is there a Cyrillic Braille version?

And when they 'sign' the speeches? Will they also be using Cyrillic sign language?