Sign in to follow this  
runningrings

(serious) predictions for 2020/22/24/26

Hi guys!

I'm a newbie -- but I've observed this website for a number of years and I understand host city predictions are a faux pax on here. But I thought I'd give it a go anyway. :) I had a look for other threads like this but I had no luck? Sorry if I've doubled up. But given this one only goes up to 2026 - this is all about being as succinct as possible - not justifying why you think its acceptable for Santiago to host the 2050 Winter Olympics after hosting the 2040 Summer Olympics. :D

One rule:

-Nothing beyond 2026 - it's pointless!

2020 - Istanbul (although I concede Tokyo has the better bid technically, Istanbul will win on the sentimental vote. Given the concessions already made, it could be to Rogge what Beijing 2008 was to Samaranch.)

2022 - Munich(a Winter Olympics at the heart of Europe, in one of its most powerful Olympic nations + a whole swagger of sentimentality attached to a Munich Winter Olympics)

2024 - New York City (with 2020 in Euro/West Asia and 2022 in Europe, the US is a glaringly obvious frontrunner for 2024. I predict a Paris-USA showdown, with the French tradition of heartbreak enduring. It could be any US city, but Chicago had a shot last time, and the West Coast has had it frequently. If NYC does go into 2024 with a new plan - I can't see the USOC turning them down. Aside from Chicago - perhaps Boston, Washington DC or Philadelphia could do it? All are iconic "boutique" cities that could put on a quintessential American Olympiad. Basically, if we go back to the USA, I'd like to see the East Coast, we've had the West in 84 and South in 96, this would bring it full circle).