Jump to content

Carling Nations Cup

Recommended Posts

The 2011 Nations Cup (also known as the 4 Associations' Tournament or the Celtic Cup) is to be the first edition of a round-robin football tournament between the national teams of Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. It is scheduled to take place in Dublin in February and May 2011.


2011 Carling Nations Cup Fixtures

The inaugural Carling Nations Cup will kick off when the Republic of Ireland host Wales on 8 February, with Scotland facing Northern Ireland the next day.

8 February 2011Republic of IrelandvWalesAviva Stadium, Dublin

9 February 2011Northern IrelandvScotlandAviva Stadium, Dublin

23 May 2011Republic of IrelandvNorthern IrelandAviva Stadium, Dublin

24 May 2011WalesvScotlandAviva Stadium, Dublin

26 May 2011WalesvNorthern IrelandAviva Stadium, Dublin

27 May 2011Republic of IrelandvScotlandAviva Stadium, Dublin


Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...

The final round of games take place this week in Dublin:

Tuesday May 24th

Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland

Kick-off at 19:45 at Aviva Stadium

Wednesday May 25th

Wales v Scotland

Kick-off at 19:45 at Aviva Stadium

Friday May 27th

Northern Ireland v Wales

Kick-off at 19:45 at Aviva Stadium

Sunday May 29th

Republic of Ireland v Scotland

Kick-off at 18:30 at Aviva Stadium

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

Shocking to see how low the attendance figures were for these games.


1) Would a full home internationals tournament with England involved, and home games for all teams be better attended?

2) Do we see the nations cup coming back in this format given the low attendances?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...