Jump to content

2010 FIFA Ballon d'Or


Recommended Posts

FIFA reveals Ballon d'Or list


PARIS — World governing body FIFA on Tuesday released a short-list of 23 players who will contest the inaugural 2010 FIFA Ballon d'Or with seven members of Spain's victorious World Cup winning squad included.

Next after that came Germany with five players in the running for the world player of the year award, while four players from European Champions League winners Inter Milan are listed.

Last year the trophy went to Barcelona's Argentinian striker Lionel Messi and he is again in the hunt for this year's award.

The revamped award is a combination of the FIFA World Player of the Year award and the France Football Ballon d'Or trophy which have been run separately until now.

The winner will be revealed at the first FIFA Ballon d'Or gala in Zurich on January 10.

The FIFA short-list for the 2010 Ballon d'Or:


Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid/ESP), Daniel Alves (Barcelona/BRA), Iker Casillas (Real Madrid/ESP), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/POR), Didier Drogba (Chelsea/CIV), Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan/CMR), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal/ESP), Diego Forlán (Atletico Madrid/URU), Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland/GHA), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona/ESP), Júlio César (Inter Milan/BRA), Miroslav Klose (Bayern Munich/GER), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich/GER), Maicon (Inter Milan/BRA), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ARG), Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich/GER), Mesut Özil (Real Madrid/GER), Carles Puyol (Barcelona/ESP), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/NED), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich/GER), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan/NED), David Villa (Barcelona/ESP), Xavi (Barcelona/ESP).


Carlo Ancelotti (Chelsea/ITA), Vicente del Bosque (Spain/ESP), Alex Ferguson (Manchester United/SCO), Pep Guardiola (Barcelona/ESP), Joachim Loew (Germany/GER), Jose Mourinho (Inter Milan/Real Madrid/POR), Oscar Tabárez (Uruguay/URU), Louis Van Gaal (Bayern Munich/NED), Bert Van Marwijk (Netherlands/NED), Arsène Wenger (Arsenal/FRA)


Previous Ballon d'Or winners:

1956 - Stanley Matthews (England), 1957 - Alfredo di Stefano (Spain), 1958 - Raymond Kopa (France), 1959 - Alfredo di Stefano (Spain), 1960 - Luis Suarez (Spain), 1961 - Omar Sivori (Italy), 1962 - Josef Masopust (Czechoslovakia), 1963 - Lev Yashin (USSR), 1964 - Denis Law (Scotland), 1965 - Eusebio (Portugal), 1966 - Bobby Charlton (England), 1967 - Florian Albert (Hungary), 1968 - George Best (Northern Ireland), 1969 - Gianni Rivera (Italy), 1970 - Gerd Mueller (West Germany), 1971 - Johan Cruyff (Netherlands), 1972 - Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany), 1973 - Johan Cruyff (Netherlands), 1974 - Johan Cruyff (Netherlands), 1975 - Oleg Blokhin (USSR), 1976 - Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany), 1977 - Allan Simonsen (Denmark), 1978 - Kevin Keegan (England), 1979 - Kevin Keegan (England), 1980 - Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany), 1981 - Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany), 1982 - Paolo Rossi (Italy), 1983 - Michel Platini (France), 1984 - Platini, 1985 - Platini, 1986 - Igor Belanov (USSR), 1987 - Ruud Gullit (Netherlands), 1988 - Marco van Basten (Netherlands), 1989 - Marco van Basten (Netherlands), 1990 - Lothar Matthaus (Germany), 1991 - Jean-Pierre Papin (France), 1992 - Van Basten, 1993 - Roberto Baggio (Italy), 1994 - Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria), 1995 - George Weah (Liberia), 1996 - Matthias, Sammer (Germany), 1997 - Ronaldo (Brazil), 1998 - Zinedine Zidane (France), 1999 - Rivaldo (Brazil), 2000 - Luis Figo (Portugal), 2001 - Michael Owen (England), 2002 - Ronaldo, 2003 - Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic), 2004 - Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine), 2005 - Ronaldinho (Brazil), 2006 - Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), 2007 - Kaka (Brazil), 2008 - Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), 2009 - Lionel Messi (Argentina).


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1 month later...

Nominees announced for FIFA Ballon d’Or gala 2010

The contenders for this year’s FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the best player of 2010 and for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2010 award were announced on Monday during a press conference held at the headquarters of the sports daily L’Equipe in Paris, in which Jérôme Valcke, FIFA Secretary General, François Morinière, CEO of France Football, Jean-Pierre Papin, a former winner of the Ballon d’Or, and Christian Karembeu, a member of FIFA’s Football Committee, took part.

In alphabetical order, the male nominees are Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina) and Xavi (Spain), while Fatmire Bajramaj (Germany), Marta (Brazil) and Birgit Prinz (Germany) will contest the women’s award.

The candidates for the newly created FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award were also announced. The contenders are the following: Vicente del Bosque (Spain/Spanish national team), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona) and José Mourinho (Portugal/FC Internazionale and Real Madrid CF) in the men’s category, and Maren Meinert (Germany/German U-20 national team) Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team) and Pia Sundhage (Sweden/USA national team) in the women’s category.

All of these nominees were confirmed after a poll in which the captains and head coaches of the men’s and women’s national teams as well as international media representatives selected by France Football voted for candidates. The votes from each of the three groups counted for one-third to obtain the final result.

The winners will be revealed at the first FIFA Ballon d’Or gala as part of a televised ceremony at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 10 January 2011, during which the FIFA FIFPro World XI and the FIFA Puskás Award for the most beautiful goal of the year will also be announced for the second year running. The online vote for fans on FIFA.com for the FIFA Puskás Award has now reached the 1 million vote landmark, with one week to go until the poll closes at noon CET on 13 December. The FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented during the gala.


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1 month later...

Messi named upset winner of Ballon d'Or award

ZURICH — Argentinian Lionel Messi won the Ballon D'Or for the second successive year here on Monday beating his more favoured Barcelona team-mates Andres Iniesta and Xavi.

The 23-year-old - the first player to win back-to-back awards since Marco van Basten in 1988/89 - had been seen as the outsider after a modest World Cup.

Iniesta and Xavi both had outstanding World Cups with the former scoring the only goal in the 1-0 World Cup final victory over Holland.


Link to post
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...