Jump to content

2011 AFC Asian Cup

Recommended Posts

Groups Draw:

DOHA (Reuters) - World Cup bound Australia and Japan have failed to secure top seeding at next year's Asian Cup even though they are the highest ranked teams in the region.

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) named host nation Qatar, ranked 97th in the world, as the surprise top seeds while Japan were fifth and Australia sixth ahead of Friday's draw for the finals.

The groups will be drawn from four pots:

Pot 1 - Qatar, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, South Korea

Pot 2 - Japan, Australia, Iran, Uzbekistan

Pot 3 - China, UAE, Bahrain, Jordan

Pot 4 - Syria, Kuwait, India, North Korea


Link to comment
Share on other sites

The groupings for the Finals:

Group A: Qatar, Kuwait, China, Uzbekistan

Group B: Saudi Arabia, Japan, Jordan, Syria

Group C: South Korea, India, Australia, Bahrain

Group D: Iraq, North Korea, United Arab Emirates, Iran

The finals will run from January 7th to 29th 2011.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...